Fifth Grade

Fifth grade places high expectations on all students. Good character is taught, modeled and required in all parts of the school day. We expect students to increase their personal responsibility and to take pride in the quality of their work. We expose students to many kinds of literature and informational text. We stress reading well for both learning and pleasure. Students independently set reading goals in order to improve and refine their reading skills and strategies.

We provide opportunities to develop critical and analytical thinking skills. We teach a process approach to writing with additional emphasis on learning grammatical content and applying writing skills to all areas of the curriculum. The four basic math operations are reviewed and stressed as well as instruction on fractions, decimals and equations. Geometry, data analysis, measurement, probability, time and money are also studied. In addition, students are to use math concepts to solve problems. Students learn life science concepts as they study vertebrates, invertebrates and body systems as well as earth, environmental and physical sciences. In social studies, we study the origins, development and growth of the United States throughout history.


"Education is not the filling of a pail, but the lighting of a fire." -William Butler Yeats

Fifth Grade Teachers

Mr. Brian Baine
(717) 597-3226 ext. 30212
bbaine@gcasd.org

Mrs. Barb Eadie
(717) 597-3226 ext. 30215
beadie@gcasd.org

Mrs. Jennifer Faith
(717) 597-3226 ext. 30114
jfaith@gcasd.org

Mrs. Kelli Geesaman
(717) 597-3226 ext. 30208
kgeesaman@gcasd.org

Mrs. Cassandra Hornbaker
(717) 597-3226 ext. 30206
chornbaker@gcasd.org

Mrs. Kati McFadden
(717) 597-3226 ext. 30209
kmcfadden@gcasd.org

Mrs. Jessica Reed
(717) 597-3226 ext. 30218
jreed@gcasd.org

Mrs. Kellie Root
(717) 597-3226 ext. 30111
kroot@gcasd.org

Mrs. LuAnn Skutch
(717) 597-3226 ext. 30204
lskutch@gcasd.org

Mrs. Christine Palmer
(717) 597-3226 ext. 30203
cpalmer@gcasd.org