Special Education

Welcome to GAES Special Education

The learning support program at the Greencastle-Antrim Elementary School offers a continuum of services to meet the individualized needs of identified students. Intervention is focused on the whole child. We develop our programs to meet social, emotional, physical, and cognitive needs. Parents, administration, primary school teachers, related service providers and primary school staff work together as a multidisciplinary team, collaborating to develop differentiated language arts and math curricula. They ensure that students have equal access to grade level curriculum as appropriate. When fitting, we use alternative curricula to meet student needs. We place a strong emphasis on a rigorous instructional delivery of the following curricula:

  • McGraw-Hill Reading Wonders and Wonderworks Curriculum
  • Units of Study Common Core Writing Workshop Curriculum
  • Scott Foresman-Addison Wesley enVisionMATH Curriculum
  • Pro-ed Edmark Reading Curriculum
  • Scott Foresman-Addison Wesley focusMATH Intensive Intervention Curriculum
The team develops lessons and activities following the objectives of the Pennsylvania Core Academic Standards. Additionally, the learning support program is rich in its use of technology to supplement these curricula.


Our goal is to help all students see beyond the stereotypes and myths about learning differences and understand that with perseverance, a positive attitude and appropriate help, people with learning differences can soar. Everyone faces challenges and problems. Success lies in how you deal with them.

Human Service Agencies


Franklin/Fulton County ARC
(717) 264-4390

Franklin/Fulton County 
Developmental Disabilities Office

(717) 709-4321

Franklin County Children & Youth
(717) 263-1900

Franklin County Information & Referral
(717) 261-2561

Parent Education Network

SAM Service Access and Management, Inc.
(717) 261-1555

Bureau of Special Education Consult Line
(800) 879-2301

Special Kids Network
(800) 986-4550

 

GAES Multidisciplinary Team

Mrs. JoAnn Papoutsis
- Director of Special Education
(717) 597-3226 ext. 30511
jpapoutsis@gcasd.org

Mr. Chad Stover
- Principal
(717) 597-3226 ext. 30500
cstover@gcasd.org

Mrs. Alison McKissick
- Assistant Principal
(717) 597-3226 ext. 30518
amckissick@gcasd.org

Dan Barrett
- Guidance Counselor
(717) 597-3226 ext. 30520
dbarrett@gcasd.org

Mr. Jeff Longfellow
- School Psychologist
(717) 597-3226 ext.30521
jlongfellow@gcasd.org

Ms. Angela Burket
- Learning Support Teacher
(717) 597-3226 ext. 30213
aburket@gcasd.org

Mrs. Emily Cordell
- Learning Support Teacher
(717) 597-3226 ext. 30107
ecordell@gcasd.org

Mrs. Brittny Paci
- Learning Support Teacher
(717) 597-3226 ext. 30127
bpaci@gcasd.org

Mrs. Kristen Showalter
-Autistic Support Teacher
(717) 597-3226 ext. 30194
kshowalter@gcasd.org

Mrs. Susan Wright
- Emotional Support / Life Skills Teacher
(717) 597-3226 ext. 30539
swright@gcasd.org

Mrs. Susan Purnell
- Speech and Language Therapist
(717) 597-3226 ext. 30178
spurnell@gcasd.org

Mrs. Carolyn Doncheski
- Occupational Therapist
(717) 597-3226 ext. 40298
cdoncheski@gcasd.org